2018 ISA World Longboard Surfing Championship

2018 ISA World Longboard Surfing Championship

Dates: Jan. 19-25        Location: Riyue Bay


The 2018 ISA World Longboard Surfing Championship will be held on the tropical Chinese island of Hainan, at Riyuewan Beach in Wanning from January 19-25.


The best longboard surfers from around the world will gather at China’s most popular surfing destination, Riyue Bay, where the steady left break offers endless opportunities for glory. In fact, Riyue Bay regularly hosts international surfing competitions, and is at the center of China’s small but growing surf scene. Local kids are picking up the sport and will soon be competing on the world stage, and in fact there are Chinese surfers hoping to compete in the Tokyo 2020 Olympics.



This year’s event promises to thrill spectators thronging the beach to get a glimpse of some truly exceptional longboarding. Who will be crowned the 2018 ISA World Longboard Surfing Champion? Come on out to Riyue Bay and see for yourself!


About the International Surfing Association

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; and World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012.


 ISA membership includes the surfing National Governing Bodies of 102 countries on five continents. Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California. It is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (Argentina), first elected President in 1994 in Rio de Janeiro. The ISA’s four Vice-Presidents are Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL).


Website: http://www.isasurf.org/


by Nicki Johnson

Explore Hainan



Share on WeChat


Open your WeChat app, and click on “Discover”

Scan the QR Code and then share by clicking in the upper right corner and choosing “Send to Chat” or “Share on Moments”

back >>
Copyright © 2019 Department of Tourism, Culture, Radio, Television and Sports of Hainan Province. All rights reserved. Developed by Elephant Parade